I’m gonna be doing recaps and info dumps of Budget Shooter Theater streams alongside regular blog posts for those who wish to keep up. Mainly so I can keep tabs on things, and have records for everything.

The second game chosen for Budget Shooter Theater’s Decision Wheel was 007: Nightfire, requested by Bobinator.

You’re probably thinking, “Oh! I remember that game! That game was amazing!”. Yeah, it was amazing. On a Gamecube, a PS2, even an Xbox. But that’s not the version I was playing on stream. I was playing the less-than-stellar PC version, released around the same time and developed by Gearbox Software.

77447-007-nightfire-windows-front-cover

I always wondered what was up with the face of the Bond girl on the left…

Back in 2002, Gearbox Software was contracted by EA to make a PC game loosely based on 007: Nightfire. At this time, Gearbox was still a plucky fresh-faced developer, piggybacking on Valve’s Half-Life games. It wasn’t until 2005’s Brothers In Arms: Road to Hill 30 did they actually get to make something entirely original that wasn’t based on an existing license or a port of something like Halo: Combat Evolved.

Loosely inspired by the 1979 Bond film Moonraker, the plot involves Bond (portrayed by but not voiced by then-current Bond actor Pierce Brosnan) investigating the plot of a philoanthropist who supposedly decommissions silos, when in reality he’s using them to store missiles and use it for Operation Nightfire, which would destroy the whole world. It’s a typical Bond story for the era. Not full of pastiches like 2001’s Agent Under Fire, but certainly not the more “serious” Bond that Daniel Craig brought to the role in 2006.

I don’t know where I read this, but I heard apparently Gearbox wanted to make a Bond game based on You Only Live Twice, but was told to make this instead. The only other things of note is the story written by Danny Bilson, the man who would later sink THQ thanks to the trainwreck that was Homefront, and one of the mappers for the game was Marc Schroeder, who worked on the Poke646 Half-Life mod as well as maps for the aborted version of Counter-Strike: Condition Zero that Gearbox was working on.

Other than that, it’s a pretty mediocre Bond game. Not the best, but certainly not as awful as, oh say, Goldeneye: Rogue Agent. Clearly the console version is the superior product here.

Since this game was made back in the day when Windows XP was considered the platform standard, it hasn’t been optimized well for modern machines. Indeed, my physical copy refused to run because I wasn’t running it as an Administrator, but even doing that resulted in a whole lot of bupkis. Eventually I had to download a fan-patched version to make it run on Windows 10. Even then, it still wasn’t without its problems:

vlcsnap-2016-12-17-17h47m42s436

Might as well call this “ROM CHECK ERROR.”

Granted, the game is no longer available for purchase, EA hasn’t had the James Bond license in ten years, and for all intents and purposes it’s abandonware. If you’re curious, you can go to http://www.nightfirepc.com, which pretty much has the full game on there updated to work on modern machines.

This playthrough happened in two parts. The first was streamed on December 17, 2016, covering the first 4 levels and halfway through the fifth. The second happened on December 23, as I didn’t feel like streaming on Christmas Eve. Unfortunately, that run didn’t go nearly as well, and I abandoned it after dying so frequently to enemies with laser-focused guns and on little health.

Afterwards, I went onto the next game: Turok: Dinosaur Hunter, and that’ll be featured in the next BST recap. Here are the VODs:

PART ONE:

PART TWO:

BONUS VIDEO:

I felt real bad the next day that I didn’t give Nightfire a fair shake. So I replayed the later stages and *beat* the game on Operative (Easy) difficulty rather than Agent (Normal) like I was on stream. If the second part made you question my gaming skills, then this bonus video might make me seem somewhat more competent. 😛

 

As always, I stream at http://twitch.tv/tonicbh. I’m taking the holidays off, but my intent is to continue Budget Shooter Theater on Saturday, January 7, 2017 at 3PM, unless things happen. If you wanna see the master list of games I have chosen and to request your own, check the master list here.

BUDGET SHOOTER THEATER, THE RECAP LIST:

  1. The Ultimate Doom
  2. 007: Nightfire for PC (you’re here!)
  3. Turok: Dinosaur Hunter
  4. Bedlam: The Game by Christopher Brookmyre
  5. Serious Sam: The Second Encounter (coming soon!)
