Sometimes you get bored and lack motivation to do something. What do you do when you’re me, a guy who writes silly things on the internet and looking for dumb stuff to write about.

That’s right, time for some thrift store shopping~

I will admit that most of the items I found are random curiosities more than anything. There are some fairly common and interesting things in here, however, and may be something to write about in a future blog post. If all else fails, it’s a good document of all the junk I get and how I got it.

I roamed around the Oak Grove/Oregon City area for this, checking two chain thrift stores and a Goodwill, plus a special hobby shop on the edge of Oregon City. So let’s rock.

Four CDs (99 cents each)

20160418_103831

There’s a post-it over Quake III Team Arena because the CD key would otherwise be visible. Granted, it probably doesn’t mean much these days…

My first hit was a local chain thrift store. I thought I was gonna strike out, but the CDs I got have some interest.

I had Quake Mission Pack 1: Scourge of Armagon, but not the second expansion, Dissolution of Eternity. Now I do. I remember not hearing too many great things, but hey, might as well get it to complete my Quake collection.

I also snagged Quake III Team Arena, aka the “holy shit Unreal Tournament is SUPER POPULAR let’s make this hasty expansion” game. Again, mostly to complete the collection. Nowadays Quake Live pretty much fills the Quake III/Team Arena void, so this are more for collection’s sake.

The third and final game is Shellshock Nam ’67, one of the many Vietnam War games that came out in the early to mid 2000s. This game is notable for being made by Guerrilla Games, the guys who’d be later known for the semi-popular Killzone series. This was the sole game they made independently before Sony bought them around 2004. I don’t know if this game’s any good, but it can’t be that bad, can it?

Then there’s the last one: A Cheetah Girls Karaoke CD. This is probably the weirdest of the lot, but I bought it because it’s a Karaoke CD that supports the CD+G format for Karaoke machines (and related devices, such as the Sega CD and 3DO). I wrote about it briefly a few years ago, you can check that out here.

Lips with two wireless microphones ($9)

20160418_103956

This cover’s alright, but I miss the original cover with not-Donal Logue being excited over singing.

While I did grab stuff at a nearby Goodwill, it wasn’t anything games-related, so I’ll go to the final thrift store, the Red White and Blue. Buried under old sports games and family-friendly PC titles was this.

Lips was Microsoft’s answer to Sony’s Singstar franchise. It had a modest fanbase but couldn’t dent Sony’s armor in the karaoke game market. It was made by iNiS (Gitaroo Man, Ouendan, Elite Beat Agents), so it can’t be all bad, right?

Honestly had these not been packed in with the microphones, I would’ve passed it up. But the two microphones and the game at that price was a sweet deal. Now let’s give the game a try, shall we?

20160418_104013

Wait a minute, this isn’t Lips! It’s Disney Sing It! ARGGH! I’ve been tricked!

Now I bet some of you are reading this and going “Well why didn’t you open the case to check the disk inside you dungus”, this particular thrift store had stuff like this bagged up, and usually they don’t like people ripping open bags to check things. I know this because I made this mistake many many years ago when they used to have board games bagged up.

So now I have two wireless microphones and a singing game that’s outside my demographic. It’s mostly Disney Channel pop fare, and I stopped paying attention to that years ago, so it’s useless to me. Now to hunt down an actual copy of Lips

Another funny story: The microphones still had batteries inside. One microphone in particular had leaky batteries inside, yet after replacing them, it still worked! After struggling a bunch to get the mics to work, they function normally, now leading me to do proper harmonies in The Beatles: Rock Band and Rock Band 3. Maybe multiple vocalists for some of the Guitar Hero games.

Hot Wheels Custom Texaco Race Car w/ a game ($1)

20160418_104127

Maybe I should’ve asked for a discount because the package was all beat up. Oh well.

My last place was a local hobby shop in Oregon City called Coin Corner and Hobbies. If you live in that area, you gotta check the place out. Lots of old toys, old board games, a boatload of figurines, Hot Wheels (and its competitors), the works. It’s a real cool place and one of the many antique/collector shops in Oregon City.

So this was sold at Texaco gas stations to advertise Need for Speed: Porsche Unleashed, one of the several spinoffs of the franchise that came between Need for Speed II and Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit II. Naturally, this game only featured the exotic Porsche cars. Yet oddly the race car bundled with it has nothing to do with the game itself. It’s not even a Porsche, which is incredibly silly.

Naturally with most Hot Wheels car collections (see my Atari Hot Wheels and Sega Hot Wheels articles for reference), these usually came in a set. This is no exception. Five cars, five different sampler versions each with a different car. This would make sense back when the game was new, but I could buy Porsche Unleashed for $5 on eBay, so collecting all five cars just to get five unique demos is a waste of time and money.

Though, if I find them for as cheap as I found this, I might consider. The place had two of the cars, and I almost grabbed them both. I chose this one because of the demo that came with the Sampler CD (The Porsche 911 Turbo), and the clear Need for Speed logo on the Hot Wheels car.

Looks like there’s more Hot Wheels-meets-video-games than I thought. This requires further research…

And the rest.

20160418_104220

Yes, I have varied tastes in music.

I ended up grabbing some music CDs as well, but only two have tangential relations to video games. The only not-video-games related one is an arrangement of the Blade Runner soundtrack by the New American Orchestra. This was the original release and apparent is all jazz covers, which sounds weird considering the new-age electronic score that film’s known for.

The other two CDs have some video game tie-ins: Eric Johnson’s Ah Via Musicom, which features “Cliffs of Dover”, aka that one funky guitar song in Guitar Hero III. The other is a CD single of Mad World performed by Michael Andrews and Gary Jules. This is the one popularized by Donnie Darko, as well as being used in the original Gears of War trailer ten years ago. Since then it’s become a popular tune being referenced and satirized everywhere. I got those just to say I owned them.


That’s about it, really. There might be some other purchases in the future, but sometimes I find this really neat stuff and clog up my collections with it. I will likely have something more interesting in the future.

