Hey kids, what time is it? No, not Howdy Doody time, but something better:

20160123_074028
Yep, it’s Loot Crate time! For January 2016, they went with an Invasion theme, full of sci-fi and other assorted goodies.
They also seemed to change the shape of the crate again from last month, presumably to keep it in line with the non-shirt versions. It makes it more difficult to keep neat and even, but as long as they can stack, I’m not bothered.
Let’s open our space rock of a crate and see what’s inside…


 

The Fifth Element replica multi pass

20160123_074436
This is a replica of the ID card from The Fifth Element, complete with a fake ID for Milla Jovovich’s character Leeloo. (That seriously sounds like a name I’d hear in a comedy film like Kung Pow: Enter the Fist.)
I will shamefully admit The Fifth Element is another one of those movies I’ve never seen. Maybe it was because it was critically panned upon release, but also because most sci-fi doesn’t do much for me unless it involves time travel. Though this replica item is a nice treat for fans of the movie. I’ll throw this movie on the “to watch” pile…


Alien Facehugger plush

20160123_074256
Aww, how cute. It’s an Alien Facehugger plush. Alien is another one of those movies I’ve never seen in their entirety. I’m familiar with its legacy, from the movies, to that weird ’90s toy line with the screeching “ALIIIIIIENS” commercials, to the video games. I still need to finish Aliens vs. Predator.

I’m glad it’s just a plush and not re-

Fun Fact: The Crate came with a large rubber band, presumably so people can do this. Props.

OH GOD GET IT OFF ME GET IT OFF ME, OH JESUS CHRIST! IT’S SUCKING MY WILL TO LIVE, WHY DID I FALL FOR ITS CUTENESS?! I NEVER ASKED FOR THIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIS!


Space Invaders Mini Alien Vinyl Figure

Hard to tell in the picture, but it's clear and see through.

Hard to tell in the picture, but it’s clear and see through.

Neato, a vinyl figurine of the alien from Space Invaders. Finally, something video game related in this whole thing!

Space Invaders is one of those timeless video games. Came out in a post-Pong, pre-Pac-Man world and it took the arcade scene by storm worldwide. Sadly Taito became merged into the osmosis of Square-Enix and it seems to do the same thing that a lot of companies do with older game company’s franchises: Either sell junk to pander to the nostalgia crowd, or pull an Atari and try to make new games for them while pissing on the legacy. Doesn’t help that Space Invaders was featured among many other nostalgic video games in that awful Pixels movie from last year.

Oh, sorry for going on a depressing tangent. This is a pretty neat trinket, regardless.


The X-Files flashlight and three batteries

20160123_074518
With the upcoming revival of The X-Files, naturally there has to be some promotional material. The flashlight’s probably nothing super special, but hey, I can channel my inner Scully with this thing. All I know about The X-Files was it had David Duchovny mumbling his way through, it had aliens, there was an episode where Jesse Ventura and Alex Trebek played the Men in Black, and there was an episode where Burt Reynolds played God. It’s one of those shows I only remember because of the various promos that I saw. That’s where my knowledge ends. I never really watched it, though I saw a lot of promos for it when taping King of the Hill back in the late ’90s.
As for the batteries: They’re three AAA batteries. They came free with the flashlight. They likely work. 5/7, would use.

 


Invasion of the Mini Prints: The Day the Earth Stood Still and The War of the Worlds

20160123_074712
These prints are actually cool, based off ’50s sci-fi classics The Day the Earth Stood Still and War of the Worlds. I’m not a guy who really frames prints – hell, I still got old posters from PAX conventions long past that I don’t know what to do with – but these look pretty neat.
Fun fact: Upon writing this, I had to make sure I correctly wrote The Day the Earth Stood Still and not the MST3K-mocked film The Day the Earth Froze (aka Sampo). I blame watching a lot of the Poopie blooper tape when I was younger burning the latter name into my brain.

 


And the rest…

There’s the obligatory T-shirt, showing off aliens. Finally, there’s the monthly pin, which apparently has some unlockable stuff, but I couldn’t get it to work. Likely because I’m not a paying customer or what have you.
This month’s Loot Crate is pretty cool, a great mix of classic sci-fi and a bit of modern stuff, great for those who are fully into this stuff. Looks like I got a few movies and TV shows to watch. Man, with this and last month’s Star Wars-heavy promotional goods, it seems there’s a lot of stuff I missed out on. I don’t have to turn in my nerd cred card, do I? 😦

