As you probably noticed on this site, I’ve covered almost nothing but American and/or European video games. Some of you may think I’m xenophobic, or just plain biased against Japanese video games. Well, the truth is I haven’t had much to write about Japanese video games, plus that’s become such a common thing for gamers to cover on the internet that I don’t have anything to write about that’s particularly unique. Well, that’s gonna change today.

I am a member of Raptr, which is basically a social networking site for gamers where you can track achievements and keep up with friends and stuff. I keep forgetting I have it, but then I get emails from Raptr saying I have fulfilled a requirement for Raptr Rewards, where if you track a certain amount of time on a certain game, system or genre, you can redeem some reward. They were doing one in collaboration with Monkey Paw Games, a noted publisher of import games for PlayStation systems. So I decided to throw my hat in the ring and hope I get something good. I get some game I’ve never heard of: Yakiniku Bugyou. I was hoping for something cool like Arc the Lad, Alundra or even Tomba!, but I guess I got the short end of the stick. I’ve been on a weird train of getting free stuff lately, I even got Darksiders thanks to a Game Informer contest around the same time I got this.

Now, there is a slight problem to this particular game: It’s entirely in Japanese, this isn’t something that’s been translated by the publisher. I know a total of about three words in Japanese, so forgive me if I’m stumbling through this game and make it look crappier than it actually is.

A screenshot of the game in action.

From what I gathered very briefly from playing the first option on the menu, the game works like this: You have three customers, each with specific requirements. Yakiniku refers to the grilling method, from what I glanced on Wikipedia anyhow. You place meat, fruit and (presumably) tofu on the plate and try to cook them without burning them, and serve them to the respective customer for points. If you don’t fulfill their requirements enough or run out of time, it’s game over. You also have to flip the items for even grilling and chip them off the grill if they get too burnt. That’s the gist of the game, with later levels introducing different characters and new items to work with. Since the language barrier coupled with the frantic gameplay hindered me, I couldn’t get past stage one, so I may never get to experience this game properly. From what I did play, it’s a fun arcade game, but me not knowing a lick of Japanese makes it really hard to play for more than five minutes.

Oh well, I can’t complain too much. It’s $6 on the PlayStation Store, and it’s probably an enjoyable little game for the price if you’re into Japanese culture. Still wish I got something else from Monkey Paw Games instead, like Cho Aniki. That would’ve been a hoot to cover.

